Morrocanoil vs L’Anza Keratin Healing Oil

If you regularly frequent beauty blogs, are interested in any way in hair, or entered a shopping centre in the western world, even, you’ll already be familiar with Morrocanoil. Until recently I was one of its biggest champions – I love the way it can give your hair a glossy look, especially when the sun is shining.

But during my traditional Christmas Eve blow-dry, my hairdresser mentioned that my hair was looking dry. ‘Prepostrous’, I said (or words to that effect – I’ve just watched a lot of Downton today). ‘I’ve been using Morrocanoil.’

She gave me a ‘where the hell have you been, Morrocanoil is so 2013’ look and told me that the hair world has moved on since then. Apparently hair oils have been developing faster than computers and there’s something of an arms race going on between hair care manufacturers. These days it’s all about oils getting into the hair fibres, rather than just coating it with silicon, which is how Morrocanoil works.

My hairdresser recommended that I try L’Anza Keratin Healing Oil, so after Christmas I went out and got some. Hair science aside, this is my experience of the two.

Morrocanoil

IMG_4927

Morrocanoil is a dream. Smells great, feels great, makes your hair look GREAT. It costs around £30 for a 100ml bottle so it’s not the cheapest. However, you only have to use a small amount each time – it comes with a pump so you can use just the right amount. About the size of a 5p piece is perfect, so the bottle lasts ages (I’ve had mine for over six months and there’s still around a third left).

Use it on wet hair, and work it through the undersections with your fingers, before smoothing the remainder on the top sections. Day to day I tend to blow dry and then straighten – after using Morrocanoil,  (and especially in the sun) it makes my hair gleam. For my hair (a bit fine and wispy) the normal treatment is a bit heavy, so I use the light treatment which is perfect. I’ve got a leftover bottle of the normal treatment which I use on my hair extensions to make them last longer.

Whatever the professionals say, I love this treatment. If you’re looking for a quick hair fix, this is amazing. If you haven’t already, go out and buy a bottle – there’s a reason why it still has such a cult following!

L’Anza Keratin Healing Oil

IMG_4926

L’Anza’s hair oil is the more sciencey of the two. I’ve been using it for about two weeks, in lieu of Morrocanoil. I got the 50ml bottle to give it a try – the downside to this is that it doesn’t come with a pump so it can be difficult to get the right amount (the larger bottles do come with a pump though). It smells divine, and feels silky. In comparison to Morrocanoil, it feels a little bit more like natural oils. They also retail at around the same price – L’Anza is £32 for a 100ml bottle.

The biggest difference between L’Anza’s oil and Morrocan oil is the time frame it takes to make a difference. L’Anza is the tortoise to Morrocanoil’s hare – it takes a few uses to take effect, but the impact after a few weeks is amazing. My hair feels so healthy at the moment that I haven’t even had to straighten it for work; just a quick blow dry and I’m out the door! For the sheer health benefits, L’Anza has to be declared winner!

Leave a Reply

